President Barrow Welcomes Diplomats from Around the World

State House, Banjul, 24 April 2024: President Adama Barrow engaged in high-level diplomacy this week, receiving representatives of his counterparts from different regions of the globe. In addition to the thirteen diplomats received on Tuesday, 23 April 2024, the Gambian Leader welcomed fifteen more diplomats at the State House the following day. 

Receiving the Diplomats, President Barrow assured them of his Government's readiness to expand the scope of mutually beneficial cooperation between our countries, particularly in response to their shared aspiration for global prosperity, peace, and stability. 

Additionally, he called for active partnerships and constant dialogue, as well as creating the space for people-to-people partnerships. 

Accordingly, President Barrow stated the critical roles of the diplomats in accomplishing these goals.  He also called for collaboration to realise the Recovery-Focused National Development Plan (RF NDP) - YIRIWA goals.

In total, twenty-eight diplomats are as follows:

1. H.E. Mr Fahri Turker Oba, Republic of Turkiye

2. H.E.Mrs. Florbela Alhindo Paraiba, The Republic of Portugal

3. H.E. Anu Saxen, Republic of Finland

4. Mrs Ingrid Mollestad, Kingdom of Norway

5. Mrs Ursula Fahringer, Republic of Austria

6. H.E. Khaled Aref, Arab Republic of Egypt

7. H.E. Mr. Veluppilal Kananathan, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

8. H.E. Monsignor Walter Erbi, Republic of Vatican

9. H.E. Mr. Nazim Adil Oglu

Samadov, Republic of Azerbaijan

10. H.E. Mrs. Carmen Hagennaars, Kingdom of the Netherlands

11. H.E. Mrs. Marie-Genevieve Mounier, Republic of Canada

12. H.E. Mr. Bartlo Miej Zdaniuk, Republic of Poland

13. H.E. Emma Henewah Mensah, Republic of Ghana

14. H.E. Mrs. Saima Sayed, The Republic of Pakistan

15. H.E. Mr. Héléne De Bock, Kingdom of Belgium

16. H.E. Mr. Dato Zainal Izran Zahari, The Republic of Malaysia

17. H.E. Mr. Rachid Saidani, The Republic of Tunisia

18. H.E. Mr. James Maridadi, The Republic of Zimbabwe

19. H.E. Madam Caterina Bertolini, The Republic of Italy

20. H.E. Ms. Leilani Bin Juda, The Republic of Australia

21. H.E. Mr. Ado Pinto, The Republic of Angola

22. H.E. Melaka Legeese Gebrehiwot, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia 

23. H.E. Colonel Mandjou Dioubate, The Republic of Guinea

24. H.E. Mr. Nasser Jadallah, The State of Palestine

25. H.E. Mr. Dinkar Asthana, The Republic of India

26. H.E. Mr. Saidou Maiga, The Republic of Burkina Faso

27. H.E. Christophe Muzungu, The Democratic Republic of Congo

28. H.E. Nelson Ocheger, The Republic of Uganda


This week, the President's diplomatic engagements were critical as the country prepares to host one of the biggest diplomatic events, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation's Summit, early next month. 

Thousands of delegations are expected from the 57 member countries of the OIC.